Posted on Mar 06th, 2019


The US-Japan Foundation is proud to introduce the newest class of Delegates to the US-Japan Leadership Program (USJLP). The purpose of USJLP is to develop a network of communication, friendship and understanding among the next generation of leaders in the U.S. and Japan. The Program aims to foster a continuing dialogue among rising stars in leadership from a variety of backgrounds and professions. It starts this process by bringing together some 20 young leaders, ages 28-42, from each country for two intensive weeklong conferences over two years, with discussions revolving around historical and current issues in bilateral relations, as well as issues reaching beyond our two countries. Through serious conversation as well as recreation and shared cultural activities it seeks to nurture lifelong friendships.

Once selected for the Program, members gain lifelong access to the unique pool of USJLP talent and are able to engage in activities that take place throughout the U.S. and Japan, from intellectual gatherings to informal meetings. After nineteen years, the USJLP network boasts 431 members in both countries. Prominent members of the Program include: Foreign Minister Taro Kono, National Security Council Senior Director for Asia Matthew Pottinger, member of Japan’s House of Representatives Motohisa Furukawa, renowned violinist Midori Goto and pianist Gohei Nishikawa, Claire Chino (Managing Executive Officer, Itochu Corporation), Johnathan Capehart (The Washington Post), Nikole Hannah-Jones (The New York Times Magazine), CNN anchor John Berman, medical journalist Dr. Mona Khanna, newscaster/reporter Tomoko Kubota, composers Todd Frazier and Christopher Theofanidis, racing driver Keiko Ihara, architect Satoshi Okada, NASA astronaut Dan Tani, actor Tetsuya Bessho, U.S. Congressman Michael Waltz (Florida), California State Senator Benjamin Allen, Nevada State Attorney General Aaron Ford, former U.S. Ambassador to Sweden Mark Brzezinski, and Olympic silver medalist Yuko Arimori.

The pool of candidates for seats at the 2019 conference was extremely competitive. In addition to leadership criteria, selections for each class aim to shape the unique delegation of first and second-year participants with a diverse representation of professions, geographic areas and perspectives. In total, 20 new Delegates (8 Americans and 12 Japanese) joined 23 returning second year Delegates for the Program’s 20th Annual Conference in Japan from July 21-28, 2019. The Class of 2019-2020 will convene for their second conference next summer, to be held July 11-18, 2020 in Seattle. Delegates are joined by Fellows (alumni) on the final two days of each conference, creating new and strengthening existing inter-class bonds.

2019 American Delegates

Courtney Beale
Consul General and Principal Officer,
U.S. Consulate General in Merida, Mexico
U.S. Department of State
1st Year
Melissa Boteach
Vice President, Income Security &
Child Care / Early Learning

National Women's Law Center
1st Year
Megan Carroll
Political Affairs Officer

United Nations
2nd Year
Sewell Chan
Deputy Managing Editor
Los Angeles Times

1st Year
Chloe Demrovksy
President & CEO,  Disaster Recovery Institute International; Contributor, Forbes;

Adjunct Professor of Global Affairs, NYU
2nd Year
Brian Ferguson
CEO & Founder
Arena Labs

2nd Year
Aisha Fukushima
RAPtivist / Speaker / Singer
1st Year
Elena Grewal
Head of Data Science
2nd Year
Alison Grigonis
Of Counsel
2nd Year
Howard Hanna
Chef / Restaurateur, The Reiger & 
Ça Va;
Managing Partner & Co-Founder,
Manaia Hospitality
2nd Year
Michael Morales
Advisory Board, OwlFactor;
Retired Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Air Force

2nd Year
Craig Mullaney
Brunswick Group
2nd Year
Micah Murphy
Commanding Officer
USS John S. McCain (DDG 56), U.S. Navy

1st Year
John Noonan
Senior Counselor for Military and Defense
Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR)
2nd Year
Rei Onishi
Deputy Legal Affairs Secretary
Office of California Governor Gavin Newsom
2nd Year
Latoya Peterson
Chief Experience Officer & Director for the Culture, Glow Up Games
2nd Year
Sunny Ramchandani
Senior Vice President
Radiology Partners
2nd Year
Harper Reed
Entrepreneur; Founder & CEO, Modest, Inc.;
Director's Fellow, MIT Media Lab
1st Year
Monica Sanz
Vice President, AIG Investments
American International Group (AIG)
2nd Year
Dennis Skelton
President and CEO
Kairos Alliance Group
2nd Year
Karin Tanabe
St. Martin's Press
1st Year
Andrew Tryba
CEO of Think3, Crossover, RideAustin, Engine Yard, DNN Corp, Kayako, Bizness Apps, FogBugz, School Loop, Agemni, SLI Systems 

1st Year


2019 Japanese Delegates

Yuichiro Enomoto
U.S. Federal Reserve Board of Governors

2nd Year
Arfiya Eri
Associate Political Affairs Officer,
Departments of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs and Peace Operations, United Nations
2nd Year
Satoshi Ezoe
Permanent Mission of Japan to the United Nations in New York

2nd Year
Emi Hariyama
Visiting Professor, Kobe College; Director of International Department, Japan International Ballet Association; Founder and Director, Japan International Ballet Company

2nd Year
Ayako Hatano
Associate Human Rights Officer
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
1st Year 
Haruka Horii
Violinist; Composer/Arranger; Educator

1st Year 
Takafumi Horii
Area Head, Near East, Middle East & Africa (NEMEA), Emerging Markets Business Unit
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company
1st Year 
Eijiro Imai
Managing Director
Farallon Capital
1st Year
Junko Miyazawa
Manager, Strategic Planning Unit,
Machinery Group CEO Office

Mitsubishi Corporation
1st Year
Sawa Nakagawa
Founder & Partner
ThreeArrows Impact Partner
1st Year
Tomoaki Nakano
Lieutenant Commander
Japan Maritime Self-Defense Force
1st Year
Kunihiro Nishimura
CEO / Founder
Xcoo, Inc.
1st Year
Yuko Osaki
Gender Equality Bureau, Cabinet Office
1st Year
Manabu Ozato
Creative Producer
Hakuhodo Inc.
1st Year
Yohei Sadoshima
CORK, Inc.
2nd Year
Masao Takahashi
Senior Director, Head of Membership;
Member of the Executive Committee

World Economic Forum
2nd Year
Dai Tamesue
Sports Commentator; Coach;
CEO, Athlete Society;
Board Member, J-League

1st Year
Izumi Tanaka
Former Announcer, NHK
2nd Year
Yusuke Tsugawa
Assistant Professor of Medicine, 
Division of General Internal Medicine & Health Services Research,
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

2nd Year
Emily Wang Fujiyama
Video Journalist
Associated Press
1st Year
Shintaro Yamaguchi
Partner, International Tax Services
PwC Tax Japan
2nd Year


Return to Homepage